• Twitter
  • Link to Facebook
  • YouTube

Cowan Insurance Group presents the 2014 Business Excellence Awards Gala

The Business Excellence Awards were established to IMAGE_NetworkingEventsLeadershipRec_Cowan_10MR11.jpgencourage and recognize Chamber members who have made exceptional contributions through their involvement and leadership, making a clear difference and who act as role models in the community. 

Award Nominees for 2014 BEA Gala

Business of the Year Award (Over 20 Employees) - Sponsored by: University of Waterloo

Winner: M & T Printing Group


Able-One Systems IncM & T Printing Group
Brick Brewing Company LimitedMadorin, Snyder LLP
Financial Horizons Group
Robertson Brown Health Services 
Kitchener Rogers Radio GroupStahle Construction Inc
Lackner McLennan Insurance Limited               Sun Life Financial                                                     
Larrek InvestigationstriOS College Business Technology Healthcare

Business of the Year Award (20 Employees and Under)
- Sponsored by: S.G. Cunningham Limited

Winner: Snapd KW


AET Group IncOrgano Gold Canada
Afterglow LimitedREEP Green Solutions
ALARMSHIELD IncSix S Partners Inc
Anytime FitnessSnapd KW
Canada's Technology TriangleThe Cake Box Inc
Dolphin Digital TechnologiesUrban Wellness Studio
echosimsWestmount Signs & Printing  
Entertaining Elements IncWoodhouse Group Inc                       
Fairway Divorce Solutions of Waterloo-WellingtonZoup!
FoxNet Inc

Environment and Sustainability Award - Sponsored by: Union Gas- A Spectra Energy Company 

Winner: Great Canadian Holidays & Coaches


Alternatives Journal Kitchener-Waterloo YMCA
Borealis Grille & BarThe Working Centre - Community Tools Project
Geosyntec ConsultantsUnited Way of Kitchener-Waterloo & Area
Great Canadian Holidays & Coaches Inc          
Waste Management
Habitat for Humanity Waterloo RegionWaterloo North Hydro Inc
Joseph & Company

Health & Wellness in the Workplace Award
- Sponsored by: Grand River Hospital

Winner: Heffner Lexus, Heffner Toyota, Heffner Scion


Anytime FitnessMorneau Shepell Limited                                      
Heffner Lexus, Heffner Toyota, Heffner Scion    

Hospitality/Tourism Award - Sponsored by: Waterloo Inn Conference Centre

Winner: Little Mushroom Catering


Galt Country Club LimitedMeal in a Jar                                                          
Little Mushroom Catering                                           
Verses Restaurant

Innovation Award - Sponsored by: BlackBerry

Winner: Accelerator Centre


Accelerator Centremeersocial
Dolphin Digital TechnologiesTangam Systems Inc
Fairway Divorce Solutions of Waterloo-WellingtonUniversity of Waterloo, Institute for Quantum Computing
Kitchener-Waterloo Humane Society 

Integration Award - Sponsored by: Libro Financial Group 

Winner: Kitchener-Waterloo Multicultural Centre


Business Development Bank of Canada, BDCKW Counselling Services
CarizonRBC Royal Bank                                                        
Kitchener-Waterloo Multicultural Centre      

Michael R. Follett Community Leader of the Year Award - Sponsored by: Equitable Life of Canada

Winner: Roger Farwell (WalterFedy)

Non-Profit/Charitable Award - Sponsored by: Borden Ladner Gervais LLP

Winner: Kitchener-Waterloo Humane Society

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Waterloo RegionKitchener-Waterloo Humane Society
Canada's Technology TriangleLutherwood Employment Services                  
Creative Enterprise InitiativePride Stables
Food Bank of Waterloo RegionThe Working Centre
Junior Achievement of Waterloo Region             
United Way of Kitchener-Waterloo & Area            

Professional Development and Workplace Training Award - Sponsored by: Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning

Winner: Ernst & Young LLP


Quarry Integrated Communications Inc
Ernst & Young LLPUnion Gas, A Spectra Energy Company
Keller Williams Golden Triangle Realty Inc
Xylotek Solutions Inc                                                 

Volunteer of the Year Award - Sponsored by: Laurier School of Business & Economics

Winner: Don Wales (Erb & Erb Insurance Brokers)

Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award - Sponsored by: Conrad Business, Entrepreneurship & Technology Centre

Winner: Mike McCauley, Buffer Box


Melissa Durrell / Durrell CommunicationsJoseph Puopolo / Printchomp
Scott Freiburger / AET Group Inc                          
Jonathan Rivard / Cango Consulting
Andrew Gardner / INDIEDESIGN Inc.
Lina Shamoun / Artline Salon Inc
Chloe Hamilton / Warm Embrace Elder CareLesley Warren /  Lesley Warren Design Group Inc
Jeff Horst & Matt Martin / echosimsMike McCauley / Buffer Box
Jim Moss / Plasticity LabsThusenth Dhavaloganathan / MyLocal

Take a look at last year's Gala highlights | Watch our video to see what the Gala is all about!

Over the years the Business Excellence Awards Gala has become a premier event in the business community. It is a time for the business community to come together and show appreciation to those businesses and organizations who help make Waterloo Region one of the strongest business communities in Canada.


Chair: Laura Richards, Manulife Financial

Staff Liaison: Teri Hetherington, Events Coordinator